About

I write. Not always words that I would allow anyone else to read, but I write. I’ve always written, but I’m finally starting to take it seriously. In November 2017, I took part in NaNoWriMo, and successfully wrote 50,000 words in 24 days. I’ve learned a lot about my own writing and while the story I wrote will not be shareable with anyone for a long time, it exists.

When I’m not writing, I read. I read almost any genre of story. My usual favourites are sci-fi, fantasy and crime, but my book collection includes romance, history, a ridiculous amount of young adult and middle-grade, as well as a lot of non-fiction. I have four bookshelves full of Star Wars novels and three of Stephen King novels. This probably tells you most of what you need to know about my reading habits.

When I’m not writing or reading, I love volunteering. I don’t get to do it as often as I used to, but I still try to do what I can. I have a special passion for disability sports, especially para ice hockey. And on the odd occasion I’m not doing any of the above, I watch sci-fi movies and TV shows, go to geek conventions (no, I don’t dress up. yet.) and follow American sports – specifically American Football and NHL Ice Hockey.

I’m in my 40s, with a husband who puts up with my quirky habits, a daughter who is at university and two cats – Isis and Loki – who love to rip holes in my skin. I live in West Yorkshire and work as a civil servant.

You can find me on Twitter. If you’d like to support my writing, you can buy me a coffee!